Medison Celebrity laptop, a scam?

medison_celebrity3.png
By now must have heard about Medison' "world's cheapest" laptop, right? But behind this decently specsed lappie a big scam is going on, according to reader comments at Slashdot. People believes company' intention is to generate publicity and secure loads of orders by keeping the price down and then disappear with all the money. Many readers have pointed towards fishy things -- the domain name was registered in April 07, for a term of ONE YEAR only, email ids for company employees are at hotmail, phone is not working, no fax, company' contact address appears to be for a residential house in Kent etc. They even copied Apple's privacy policy, word by word. But now Medison has taken privacy page offline, I guess they are working on a new page (a little different from Apple's!). I think the best thing to do is to wait for the first laptop to ship.

Reader Comments

  1. Svein on "

    For more information on this possible scam, visit: http://medisonscam.blogspot.com/

  1. Reuben on "

    If it sound too good to be true, then...

    Of course this is a scam!

  1. S. Munford on "

    I think it would be better to wait for the first 100 laptops delivered at that price. It would be no big deal to buy a few decent laptops make the delivery, take the loss and then wait for the major orders to come in after the word hits the street about actual deliveries made. Then it would be a simple matter to abscond with the cash from later orders. Wait and see.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Search